About UsGet InvolvedWhat's NewLecture SeriesHistoryPhoto GalleryLinks

What’s New

These Ranger-led walking tours have been scheduled for 2014. Mark your calendars now and check back later for further details.

Saturday, January 11
1:30 pm
Civil War Fortifications Tour

Saturday, February 1
9:30 am 
Blue Blazes

Saturday, February 8
1:30 pm
Hampton Place

Saturday, March 1
9:30 am
Finding the Federal Road

Saturday, March 8
1:30 pm 
Cracker Line

Saturday, April 12
1:30 pm
Cherokee Removal

Thursday, May 8
 6:00 pm 
Bicycle Ride

Thursday, June 12
6:00 pm 
Bicycle Ride

Thursday, July 10
6:00 pm 
Canoeing S. Chickamauga Creek

Saturday, October 11
1:30 pm 
TBA

Saturday, November 8
1:30 pm 
TBA

   

Finding the Old Federal Road

High-tech tools and GIS (Geographic Information Systems) mapping is helping the National Park Service identify the old Federal Road on Moccasin Bend. Archaeological consultants and land surveyors have recently identified the corridor through which the Federal Road passed across John Brown’s Reservation to the Browns Ferry crossing. Using GPS (Global Positioning System) technology, the old roadbed has been flagged and cleared in several segments for visitor access, in preparation for the 175th anniversary of the Cherokee Removal and the 150th anniversary of the Battle for Chattanooga. Official opening of the road will take place during the last weekend of October 2013, but ranger-led hikes along the corridor are already taking place. The Federal Road was the route across Moccasin Bend that Cherokees walked during their forced removal from the region in 1838. It was also instrumental in getting supplies through the Cracker Line to Union troops in 1863.

Federal Road
 

[ Home | About Us | Get Involved | What's New | Lecture Series | History | Photo Gallery | Links ]

201 Chestnut Street • Chattanooga • TN • 37402 • 423-785-3030 • moccasinbendpark@gmail.com